CENTRAL ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION NEW DELHI

Coram

- 1. Dr. Promod Deo, Chairperson
- 2. Shri Bhanu Bhushan, Member
- 3. Shri R. Krishnamoorthy, Member
- 4. Shri S.Jayaraman, Member

Petition No. 17/2009 (Suo Motu)

In the matter of

Inclusion of Model Connection Agreement in the Indian Electricity Grid Code.

And in the matter of

Power Grid Corporation of India Ltd, Gurgaon Respondent

ORDER

Chapter 4 of the Indian Electricity Grid Code (hereinafter "the IEGC")

prescribes the conditions for seeking connection to the grid. Clause 4.5 of the said Chapter specifically provides for a Model Connection Agreement to be

placed at Annexure - 1 to Chapter 4, with broad contents indicated as under,

namely -

"4.5 Connection Agreement

A connection agreement shall include (but not limited), as appropriate, within its terms and conditions, the following:

- i) A condition requiring both parties to comply with the IEGC.
- ii) Details of connection, technical requirements and commercial arrangements.
- iii) Details of any capital expenditure arising from necessary reinforcement or extension of the system, data communication, RTU etc. and demarcation of the same between the concerned parties.
- iv) Site responsibility schedule.
- v) General philosophy, guidelines, etc., on protection and telemetry."

2. While it could not be included in the IEGC so far, there is an urgent need to put in place the Model Connection Agreement envisaged in clause 4.5 of the IEGC to avoid coordination issues.

3. Hence, we direct the CTU to prepare and submit for the Commission's consideration, latest by 28.2.2009, a draft of the Model Connection Agreement, which shall serve as the base paper for obtaining comments of the stakeholders before finalization. Needless to add that the CTU shall ensure that the draft is in conformity with the provisions of the Electricity Act, 2003 and the regulations notified thereunder, including but not limited to, the IEGC, Grid Standards, and Technical Standards for connectivity to the Grid specified by CEA.

Sd/= (S. Jayaraman) Member Sd/= (R. Krishnamoorthy) Member Sd/= Sd/= (Bhanu Bhushan) (Dr. Pramod Deo) Member Chairperson

New Delhi, dated 27th January 2009