CENTRAL ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION **NEW DELHI**

Petition No. 232/2009

Coram

1. Dr. Pramod Deo, Chairperson

2. Shri S. Jayaraman, Member

3. Shri V. S. Verma, Member

4. Shri M. Deena Dayalan, Member

DATE OF ORDER: 20.5.2010

In the matter of

Maintaining of the Grid Security of the Southern Grid by curbing over-

drawals by TNEB

ORDER

This petition was filed by the Southern Regional Load Despatch Centre

alleging non-compliance by TNEB of its messages for curbing over-drawals at

low frequency. The Commission vide its order dated 30.11.2009 appointed

one of the Members namely Sh. V. S. Verma as Adjudicating Officer under

Section 143 of the Electricity Act, 2003 (the Act). The Adjudicating Officer

after providing adequate opportunity to the respondent disposed off the

matter vide its order dated 27.4.2010 by imposing a token penalty amounting

to Rs. 1 lakh for each of the 24 instances of non-compliance by TNEB, of the

directions of SRLDC. The Adjudicating Officer vide the above order has also

directed that the penalty be deposited before 30.4.2010.

- 2. In response to the above directions, the respondent has vide its affidavit dated 30.4.2010 sought extension of time by two weeks from 30.4.2010 to examine the order. The respondent has submitted that the order of the Adjudicating Officer, directing it to deposit the penalty by 30.4.2010, was downloaded by the respondent from the website of the Commission on 29.4.2010 only. Respondent has further stated that the Chairperson and the Members of the respondent board are pre-occupied with the State Assembly Session, which is in progress.
- 3. We have considered the matter and are satisfied that the plea of paucity of time for non-compliance of the directions of the Adjudicating Officer is genuine and accordingly allow the extension of time.
- 4. The respondent is hereby directed to deposit the penalty amount by 20.5.2010.

sd/- sd/- sd/- sd/- (M. DEENA DAYALAN) (V. S. VERMA) (S. JAYARAMAN) (Dr. PRAMOD DEO) MEMBER MEMBER CHAIRPERSON