CENTRAL ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION NEW DELHI

Petition No.: 15/Suo-Motu/2012

Coram: Dr. Pramod Deo, Chairperson Shri S. Jayaraman, Member Shri V. S. Verma, Member Shri M. Deena Dayalan, Member

Date of Order: 21.8.2012

In the matter of:

Determination of tariff of the natural inter-State transmission lines

And

In the matter of:

- 1. Chairman & Managing Director, Delhi Transco Ltd., Shakti Sadan Building, New Delhi.
- 2. Chairman & Managing Director, Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Prasaran Nigam Ltd., Jaipur.
- 3. Chairman & Managing Director, Punjab State Transmission Corporation Ltd, Patiala.
- 4. Managing Director, Power Transmission Corporation of Uttarakhand, Dehradun.
- 5. Chairman & Managing Director, Himachal Pradesh state Electricity Board, Shimla.
- 6. Managing Director, Haryana Vidyut Prasaran Nigam Ltd. Haryana.
- 7. Chairman & Managing Director, Uttar Pradesh Power Transmission Corporation Ltd, Lucknow
- 8. Development Commissioner, Power Development Department (J&K), Srinagar
- 9. Chief Engineer, UT of Chandigarh (Electricity Department 1st Floor), Sector 9-D, Chandigarh.
- 10. Chairman, Bhakhra Beas Management Board, Sector-19B, Madhya Marg, Chandigarh.
- 11. Chairman & Managing Director, West Bengal State Electricity Transmission Co. Ltd., Vidyut Bhavan, Kolkata.
- 12. Chairman, Bihar State Electricity Board, Vidyut Bhavan, Patna.
- 13. Chairman, Jharkhand State Electricity Board, Engineering Bhawan, Ranchi.
- 14. Chairman, Damodar Valley Corporation, DVC Tower, Kolkata.
- 15. Chairman & Managing Director (O&M), Orissa Power Transmission Corporation Ltd., Bhubaneswar.
- 16. Secretary, Energy & Power Department, Government of Sikkim, Gangtok.
- 17. Chairman, ASEB, Bijili Bhawan, Paltan Bazar, Guwahati.
- 18. Chairman, MeECL, Short Round Road, Meter Factory, Shillong.

- 19. Chief Engineer (Power), Electricity Department, Government of Nagaland, Kohima.
- 20. Chief Engineer (Elect), Electricity Department, Government of Manipur, Imphal.
- 21. Chief Engineer, Power & Electricity Department, Government of Mizoram, Khatla Aizawl.
- 22. Chairman & Managing Director, TSECL, Bidyut Bhawan, Government of Tripura, Agartala.
- 23. Chief Engineer (Power), Department of Power, Government of Arunanchal Pradesh, Vidyut Bhawan, Itanagar.
- 24. Chairman & Managing Director, MSETCL, 'Prakashganga', C-19, E-Block, Bandra Kurla Complex, Bandra (E), Mumbai.
- 25. Managing Director, Gujarat Energy Transmission Corporation Ltd (GETCO), Sardar Patel Vidyut Bhavan, Race Course, Vadodara, Gujarat.
- 26. Chairman, Chhattisgarh State Power Transmission Co. Ltd, Banganiya, Raipur.
- 27. Chairman & Managing Director, Madhya Pradesh Power Transmission Company Ltd, MPPTCL, Nayagaon, Jabalpur.
- 28. Chief Electrical Engineer, Electricity Department, Government of Goa, Vidyut Bhavan, Goa.
- 29. Chairman & Managing Director, APTRANSCO, Vidyut Soudha, Hyderabad.
- 30. Managing Director, KPTCL, Cauvery Bhavan, Bangalore
- 31. Chairman, KSEB, Vidyuthi Bhavanam, Pattom, Thiruvananthapuram.
- 32. Managing Director, TANTRANSCO, Anna Salai, Chennai.
- 33. Superintending Engineer-I (Elecy), Electricity Department, Government of Puducherry, Puducherry.
- 34. Secretary (P), UT of Dadra Nagar Haveli Silvassa.
- 35. Secretary (P), UT of Daman & Du, Moti Daman, D&D. Respondents

<u>ORDER</u>

The Commission has been determining tariff of the inter-State transmission lines

developed, owned and operated by the Central Transmission Utility and the

transmission licensees i.e., who have been granted licence by the Commission under

section 79(1) (c) and (d) of the Electricity Act, 2003 (hereinafter referred to as "the Act").

Conveyance of electricity from territory of one State to another State is also considered

to be a part of inter-State transmission system as per section 2(36) of the Act and

accordingly tariff of these lines is also required to be determined by the Central

Commission under Section 79(1)(d) of the Act. Further, some of the owners/developers

of the inter-State transmission lines of 132 kV and above in North Eastern Region and

220 kV and above in Northern, Eastern, Western and Southern regions have approached the Implementing Agency for including their transmission assets in computation of Point of Connection transmission charges and losses under the Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (Sharing of inter-State Transmission Charges and Losses) Regulations, 2010 (hereinafter "Sharing Regulations'). As a step towards inclusion of non-ISTS lines in the PoC transmission charges, the Commission proposes to include the Natural inter-State lines, i.e., the transmission lines connecting two States, for computation of PoC transmission charges and losses. However, for the disbursement of transmission charges, tariff for such assets needs to be approved by the Commission in accordance with the provisions of Sharing Regulations. Accordingly, the owners of these Natural inter-State lines were directed, vide Commission's order dated 14.3.2012, to file tariff petitions for determination of tariff in accordance with the Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (Terms and Conditions of Tariff) Regulations, 2009 (hereinafter referred to as "2009 Tariff Regulations") by 15.4.2012.

2. Owners of some of the Natural inter-State lines have filed the tariff petitions in compliance of Commission's order dated 14.3.2012 and many of these Natural inter-State lines have sought time to file the tariff petitions as we directed. We hereby direct all the Natural inter-State line owners, who are yet to file the tariff petitions, to file tariff petitions in accordance with the 2009 Tariff Regulations, along with the prescribed fees, before the 30.9.2012.

Sd/-Sd/-Sd/-(M. Deena Dayalan)
Member(V.S. Verma)
Member(S. Jayaraman)
Member(Dr. Pramod Deo)
Chairperson