CENTRAL ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION NEW DELHI

Petition No. 18/RP/2014 in Petition No. 135/GT2013

Coram: Shri Gireesh B. Pradhan, Chairperson

Shri M. Deena Dayalan, Member Shri A.K.Singhal, Member

Date of Hearing: 24.7.2014 Date of Order: 31.7.2014

In the matter of

Review of Order dated 13.5.2014 in Petition No.135/GT/2013 revising the tariff of Kahalgaon Super Thermal Power Station, Stage-I (840 MW) for the period from 1.4.2009 to 31.3.2014.

And in the matter of

NTPC Ltd. NTPC Bhawan, Core-7, SCOPE Complex, 7, Institutional Area, Lodhi Road, New Delhi-110003

...Petitioner

Vs

1. 1. West Bengal State Electricity Distribution Co. Ltd. Vidyut Bhawan, Block-DJ, Sector-II, Salt Lake City, Kolkata-7000091

2. Bihar State Electricity Board Vidyut Bhawan, Bailey Road Patna-800001

3. Jharkhand State Electricity Board Engineering Bhawan, Heavy Engineering Corporation Dhurwa, Ranchi-834004

4. GRIDCO Ltd. Vidyut Bhawan, Janpath Bhubaneshwar-751007

5. Damodar Valley Corporation DVC Towers, VIP Road Kolkata-700054

6. Power Department, Government of Sikkim,



Kazi Road, Gangtok, Sikkim-737101

7. Electricity Department,Union Territory of Pondicherry58, Subhash Chandra Bose SalaiPondicherry-605001

 Tamil Nadu Generation & Distribution Corporation Ltd 144, Anna Salai Chennai-600002

9. Madhya Pradesh Power Trading Company Ltd, Shakthi Bhavan, Vidyut Nagar, Jabalpur-482008

10. Maharashtra State Electricity Distribution Company Ltd, Prakashgad, Bandra (East) Mumbai -400051

11.Gujarat Urja Vikas Nigam Limited, Vidyut Bhavan, Race Course, Vadodara-390007

12. Uttar Pradesh Power Corporation Ltd Shakti Bhavan, 14, Ashok Marg, Lucknow – 226001(Uttar Pradesh)

13. Power Development Department, Government of J&K, New secretariat, Srinagar (J&K)

14. Power Department, UT Secretariat, UT Secretariat, Sector 9D, Chandigarh-160009

15. BSES-Rajdhani Power Ltd. BSES Bhawan, Nehru Place, New Delhi - 110019

16.BSES-Yamuna Power Ltd., Shakti Kiran Building, Karkardooma, Delhi- 110072

17. Tata Power Delhi Distribution Ltd., Grid Sub-station Hudson Road, Kingsway Camp, Delhi-110009

Electricity Department,
Administration of Dadra and Nagar Haveli
Silvassa via VAPI



...Respondents

19. Electricity Department, Administration of Daman and Diu Daman-396210

Parties present:

Shri Ajay Dua, NTPC Shri A.S.Pandey, NTPC Shri A.Basu Roy, NTPC

INTERIM ORDER

This application has been made by the petitioner, NTPC Ltd, for review of order dated 13.5.2014 in

Petition No. 135/GT/2013 whereby the Commission had revised the tariff of Kahalgaon Super Thermal Power

Station, Stage-I (840 MW) (hereinafter "the generating station') in terms of the proviso to Regulation 6(1) of

the 2009 Tariff Regulations for the period from 1.4.2009 to 31.3.2014.

2. Aggrieved by the said order, the petitioner has sought review of the said order dated 13.5.2014 on the

ground of error apparent on the face of the order, raising the following issues:

- (i) Allowance of capitalization of expenditure towards 5 km scheme during 2013-14;
- (ii) Consideration of exclusion of de-capitalization of (-)₹99.83 lakh during 2010-11 on account of assets not owned by the company;
- (iii) Minor corrections in working for interest on loan.

3. Heard the representative of the petitioner on 'admission'. Review Petition is admitted on the issues raised in para 2(i) and (ii) above. As regards the issue raised in para 2(iii) above, the same shall be rectified at the time of passing final order in this petition.

4. The petitioner is directed to serve copy of the application for review, along with this order, on the respondents, latest by 8.8.2014. The respondents may file their replies by 19.8.2014, with advance copy to the petitioner, who may file its rejoinder, if any, by 29.8.2014. No further extension of time shall be granted for filing of replies/rejoinder.

5. Matter to be listed for final hearing on 11.9.2014.

Sd/-[A.K.Singhal] Member *sd/-*[M. Deena Dayalan] Member *sd/-*[Gireesh B.Pradhan] Chairperson

