CENTRAL ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION NEW DELHI

Suo-Motu Petition No. 356/SM/ 2013

Coram:

Shri Gireesh B.Pradhan, Chairperson Shri V.S.Verma, Member Shri M. Deena Dayalan, Member Shri A.K.Singhal, Member

Date of order: 7.1.2014

In the matter of

Implementation of Renewable Regulatory Fund Mechanism under Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (Indian Electricity Grid Code) Regulations, 2010.

And

In the matter of

- 1. U.P. Power Corporation Ltd. Shakti Bhawan, Lucknow
- 2. SKDC, Virbhadra, Rishikesh, PITCUL, Uttarakhand
- 3. SE (SLDC) Haryana Vidyut Prasaran Nigam Ltd, Panchkula
- 4. Delhi Transco Ltd, New Delhi
- 5. Himachal Pradesh State Electricity Board, Shimla
- 6. Punjab State Load Dispatch Centre, Patiala
- 7. Chief Engineer (S&F) SLDC, Jammu
- 8. Chief Engineer (LD) Electricity Department, UT, Chandigarh, Chandigarh
- 9. SLDC, Madhya Pradesh Power Transmission Company Ltd, Jabalpur
- 10. SLDC, MSETCL, Mumbai
- 11. SLDC, Gujarat Energy Transmission Corporation Ltd., Vadodara
- 12. Chhattisgarh State Power Transmission Co. Ltd, SLDC, Raipur
- 13. Goa Electricity Department, Panaji, Goa
- 14. Electricity Department, Daman & Diu, Nani Daman
- 15. Electricity Department, Dadar & NAgar Haveli, Silvasa
- 16. Karnataka Power Transmission Corporation Ltd, SLDC, Bangalore
- 17. SLDC, TANTRASCO, Chennai
- 18. Chief Engineer (System Operation), KSEB, Ernakulam
- 19. Transmission Corporation of Andhra Pradesh Ltd., SLDC, Hyderabad
- 20. EE (System Control Centre) Electricity Department, Puducherry
- 21. SLDC, Bihar State Electricity Board, Patna
- 22. West Bengal State Transmission Corporation Ltd., Howrah
- 23. SLDC, Orissa Power Transmission Corporation Ltd., Bhubaneswar



- 24. SLDC Jharkhand State Kusai Colony, Ranchi
- 25. Power Department, Govt. of Sikkim, Gangtok
- 26. SLDC, Damodar Valley Corporation, Dhanbad, Jharkhand
- 27. SLDC, AEGCL, Guwahati
- 28. SLDC, Electricity Department, Govt. of Manipur, Imphal
- 29. SLDC, Power & Electricity Department, Govt. of Mizoram, Aizwal
- 30. SLDC, Electricity Department, Govt. of Nagaland, Dimapur
- 31. CMD, Tripura State Electricity Corporation Ltd, Agartala
- 32. SLDC, Department of Power, Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh, Itanagar
- 33. SE (SLDC), Director Distribution Office, Shillong
- 34. Secretary, Ministry of New Renewable Energy, New Delhi
- 35. Wind Energy Association

ORDER

The Commission vide its order dated 16.1.2013 decided to implement the Renewable Regulatory Fund (RRF) mechanism with effect from 1.7.2013. Subsequently, the Commission in its order dated 9.7.2013 while approving the Detailed Procedure for implementation of RRF mechanism directed implementation of the mechanism with effect from 15.7.2013. The relevant paras of our order dated 9.7.2013 are extracted as under:

- "4. We have examined the Detailed Procedure submitted by NLDC. We hereby accord our approval to the Detailed Procedure as per the Annexure to this order. We had directed in our order dated 16.1.2013 in Petition No. 209/Suo Motu/2012 for implementation of the RRF mechanism w.e.f. 1.7.2013. In order to give time to the stakeholders to get acquainted with the procedure, we direct that implementation of the RRF will start from 15.7.2013 and accordingly, the Detailed Procedure shall be implemented w.e.f. 15.7.2013.
- 5. We direct that NLDC shall give wide publicity to the Detailed Procedure for the information of and compliance by all concerned."
- 2. Consequent to implementation of RRF vide our aforementioned order, Commission has received feedback from wind generators, concerned Regional Power Committees and POSOCO regarding implementation of the RRF mechanism. The

Commission, therefore, intends to review the RRF mechanism approved vide our order dated 9.7.2013 after giving due consideration to interests of the wind generators and other stakeholders as well as in the interest of safe, secure and reliable operation of the grid. While the forecasting and scheduling of wind generation shall continue as per the provisions of the Grid Code and RRF procedure approved vide our order dated 9.7.2013, the commercial mechanism outlined therein shall remain suspended till further orders.

3. We direct the respondents, wind and solar firms, association of wind energy producers and other stakeholders to submit their detailed views on the RRF mechanism and the Detailed Procedure to the Commission by 31.1.2014.

sd/-(A.K.Singhal) Member sd/-(M. Deena Dayalan) Member sd/-(V.S.Verma) Member sd/-(Gireesh B.Pradhan) Chairperson