CENTRAL ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION NEW DELHI

Petition No. 290/GT/2014

Coram:

Shri Gireesh. B. Pradhan, Chairperson Shri A.K.Singhal, Member Shri A.S. Bakshi, Member Dr. M.K. Iyer, Member

Date of Order: 14.09.2016

IN THE MATTER OF

Corrigendum to order dated 28.7.2016

IN THE MATTER OF

Approval of tariff of Singrauli Super Thermal Power Station (2000 MW) for the period from 1.4.2014 to 31.3.2019

AND

IN THE MATTER OF

NTPC Ltd NTPC Bhawan, Core-7, SCOPE Complex, 7, Institutional Area, Lodhi Road, New Delhi-110003

...Petitioner

Vs

- 1. Uttar Pradesh Power Corporation Ltd Shakti Bhawan, 14, Ashok Road, Lucknow – 226001
- Jaipur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd Vidyut Bhawan, Janpath, Jaipur – 302 205
- Ajmer Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd
 Old Power House, Hatthi Bhatta, Jaipur Road,
 Ajmer 305001
- 4. Jodhpur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd New Power House, Industrial Area, Jodhpur – 342003
- 5. Tata Power Delhi Distribution Ltd 33 kV Sub-station, Kingsway Camp, Delhi –110 009
- 6. BSES Rajdhani Power Ltd BSES Bhawan, Nehru Place, New Delhi – 110 019



- 7. BSES Yamuna Power Ltd Shakti Kiran Building, Karkardooma New Delhi – 110092
- 8. Haryana Power Purchase Centre, Shakti Bhawan, Sector- 6 Panchkula – 134109
- Punjab State Power Corporation Ltd
 The Mall, Secretariat Complex,
 Patiala 147 001
- 10. Himachal Pradesh State Electricity Board, Kumar Housing Complex Building – II, Vidyut Bhawan, Shimla-171004
- Power Development Department,
 Government of J&K,
 New Secretariat, Srinagar
- 12. Power Department, Union Territory of Chandigarh, Addl. Office Building, Sector 9D, Chandigarh
- 13. Uttarakhand Power Corporation LtdUrja Bhawan, Kanwali Road,Dehradun 248 001

...Respondents

Corrigendum

The Commission by order dated 28.7.2016 had determined the tariff of Singrauli Super Thermal Power Station (2000 MW) for the period 2014-19 in terms of the provisions of the 2014 Tariff Regulations.

2. It is observed that in para 91 of the order dated 28.7.2016, the formula for computation and payment of Energy Charge for thermal generating stations has been inadvertently quoted as per the 2009 Tariff Regulations, even though the tariff was for the period 2014-19 and the formula as per the 2014 Tariff Regulations should have been quoted. This inadvertent error is sought to be rectified in exercise of the powers under Regulation 103 A of the CERC (Conduct of Business) Regulations 1999. Accordingly, the regulation quoted under para 91 of the order dated 28.7.2016 is modified as under.

"30(6). Energy charge rate (ECR) in Rupees per kWh on ex-power plant basis shall be determined to three decimal place in accordance with the following formula:

(a) For coal based and lignite fired stations

 $ECR = \{(GHR - SFC \times CVSF) \times LPPF / CVPF + SFC \times LPSFi + LC \times LPL\} \times 100 / (100 - AUX)\}$

Where,

AUX = Normative auxiliary energy consumption in percentage.

CVPF = (a) Gross calorific value of primary fuel as received, in kCal per kg, for coal based stations

(b) xxx

(c) In case of blending of fuel from different sources, the weighted average Gross calorific value of primary fuel shall be arrived in proportion to blending ratio.

CVSF = Calorific value of secondary fuel, in kCal per ml.

ECR = Energy charge rate, in Rupees per kWh sent out.

GHR = Gross station heat rate, in kCal per kWh.

LC = Normative limestone consumption in kg per kWh.

LPL = Weighted average landed price of limestone in Rupees per kg.

LPPF = Weighted average landed price of primary fuel, in Rupees per kg, per litre or per standard cubic metre, as applicable, during the month (In case of blending of fuel from different sources, the weighted average landed price of primary fuel shall be arrived in proportion to blending ratio

SFC = Normative Specific fuel oil consumption, in ml per kWh.

LPSFi= Weighted Average Landed Price of Secondary Fuel in Rs/ml during the month."

3. All other terms of the order remain unchanged.

-Sd/-(Dr. M.K.lyer) Member -Sd/-(A. S. Bakshi) Member -Sd/-(A. K. Singhal) Member -Sd/-(Gireesh B. Pradhan) Chairperson

