CENTRAL ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION

• • • •

Minutes of the Commission meeting held on 14th May, 2010

1.0 The following were present:

- 1. Dr. Pramod Deo, Chairperson In Chair
- 2. Mr. S. Jayaraman, Member
- 3. Mr. V.S. Verma, Member
- 4. Mr. Deena Dayalan, Member
- 5. Mr. Alok Kumar, Secretary
- 6. Mr. K. Biswal, Chief (F)
- 7. Mr. Pankaj Batra, Chief (E)
- 8. Dr. V.M. Deshpande, Chief Advisor
- 9. Mr. Trilochan Rout, Jt. Chief (Law)
- 10. Mr. Rahul Banerjee, Senior Advisor
- 11. Mr. S.K. Chatterjee, Dy. Chief (RA)
- 12. Ms. Archna Ahlawat, Dy. Chief (IT)
- 13. Ms. Navneeta Verma, Asst. Chief (E)

2.0 <u>Item No. 1: Consideration of the comments/suggestions on the proposed forbearance and floor prices for REC framework</u>

After considering the agenda note, the Commission approved the staff proposal and desired further action according to the directions given in the meeting.

3.0 <u>Item No.2: Consideration of the detailed procedure submitted by NLDC as central agency under REC mechanism.</u>

After considering the agenda note, the proposal was approved with some modifications.

4.0 <u>Item No. 3: Concerns regarding windfall profits to portfolio sellers in short-term electricity markets.</u>

After considering the agenda note, the Commission directed that the proposed consultation paper may be placed for their approval by 25th May, 2010.

5.0 <u>Item No.4: Reference received from the Ministry of Power for advice on the provisions of the Tariff Policy regarding procurement of power through competitive bidding from the State/Govt. owned generators.</u>

After considering the agenda note, the Commission directed to prepare the draft of the advice to Government in line with the proposals in the agenda note and also incorporating the viewpoints that emerged during the discussions. It was also desired that a more detailed analysis may also be undertaken separately.

6.0 The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the chair.
