BEFORE THE CENTRAL ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION NEW DELHI

Petition No. 22/2000

Coram :

- 1. Shri S.L. Rao, Chairman
- 2. Shri DP. Sinha, Member
- 3. Shri G.S. Rajamani, Member
- 4. Shri A.R. Ramanathan, Member

In the matter of

Approval under Regulation 86 for billing Powergrid for not transmitting the entitled power from central generating stations to Tamil Nadu, resulting in disruption of supply to the consumers served by TNEB and consequent revenue loss to the Board.

And in the matter of

Tamil Nadu Electricity Board

...Petitioner

versus

Powergrid Corporation of India Limited

...Respondent

The following were present on behalf of the parties :

- 1. Shri S. Sowmyanarayanan, Consultant, TNEB ... Petitioner
- 2. Shri K.K. Das, G.M.(SO), PGCIL
- 3. Shri Bhanu Bhushan, Dir.(Opn), PGCIL

... Petitioner ... Respondent -do-

<u>ORDER</u>

(Date of Hearing : 20th September, 2000)

In this petition, Tamilnadu Electricity Board (TNEB), the Petitioner has sought to fix the responsibility on the Powergrid Corporation of India Ltd. (PGCIL), the respondent, for its alleged failure to transmit to the petitioner the power from the Central Generating Stations within the Southern Region as also the contracted power from other regions The petitioner has also prayed for award of cost of energy that could not be transmitted and levy of penal charges on the respondent for under-frequency trippings and islanding of the Southern grid.

The issues raised in this petition are similar to those raised in petition No.35/2000 which was heard by us on 30-8-2000. An order on Petition No.35/2000 has been passed separately wherein we have observed

that the petitioner shall make a reference to CEA for its decision in view of Sub-section (9) of Section 55 of the Electricity (Supply) Act, 1948.

We direct that our decision in petition No.35/2000 shall ipso-facto apply to the present petition as well. The petition is disposed of accordingly. There will be no order as to costs.

(G.S. Rajamani) (A.R. Ramanathan) Member

(D.P. Sinha (S.L. Rao) Member Chairman

Member

New Delhi dated the September, 2000.