CENTRAL ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION NEW DELHI

Petition No. 212/MP/2019

Subject : Petition under Section 79 of the Electricity Act, 2003 read with

> Power Supply Agreement dated 18.2.2016 executed between Sembcorp Energy India Limited and the Discoms for release of amounts arbitrarily and wrongfully withheld by Respondents from fuel charges legally payable to Sembcorp Energy India

Limited.

Date of Hearing : 28.5.2021

Coram : Shri P. K. Pujari, Chairperson

> Shri I. S. Jha, Member Shri P. K. Singh, Member

Petitioner : Sembcorp Energy India Limited (SEIL)

Respondents : Southern Power Distribution Company of Telangana and 2 Ors.

Parties Present : Shri Sanjay Sen, Sr. Advocate, SEIL

> Shri Vishrov Mukerjee, Advocate, SEIL Shri Ameya Vikram Mishra, Advocate, SEIL

Shri Ruth, Advocate, SEIL

Ms. Swapna Seshadri, Advocate, Telangana Discoms Shri Damodar Solanki, Advocate, Telangana Discoms

Shri Milind Nigudkar, SEIL Shri Pakaj Kapoor, SEIL

Shri D. N. Sharma, Telangana Discoms

Record of Proceedings

Case was called out for virtual hearing.

- Learned senior counsel for the Petitioner made detailed submissions in support of his contention that the Respondents have unlawfully deducted and withheld the payment of fuel charges due and payable to the Petitioner for the period from May, 2017 to December, 2018. He extensively relied upon the provisions of the Power Supply Agreement dated 18.2.2016 and correspondence exchanged between the parties.
- 3. Learned counsel for the Respondents, Telangana Discoms requested to adjourn the matter due to non-availability of arguing counsel and prayed to fix another date to respond. Request was allowed by the Commission and accordingly, the matter was adjourned. The Petitioner was directed to file its written submissions, if any, within in a week.
- Matter remained Part-heard. The matter shall be listed for the submissions of the Respondents in due course for which separate notice will be issued.

By order of the Commission Sd/-(T.D. Pant) Joint Chief (Law)